Tuesday 7 August 2012

‘Griffin Must Go’ conference announced

North West Unite Against Fascism will be holding their next ‘Griffin Must Go’ campaign/North West Regional Conference in Liverpool on Sunday 2nd December.
‘GRIFFIN MUST GO’ is North West UAF’s campaign to remove fascist BNP leader Nick Griffin from his seat as Member of the European Parliament at the 2014 European elections .
The campaign was launched in Manchester in November 2011, with the support of North West TUC and others.    The campaign is already building up a head of steam, in good preparation for 2014, when we have the chance to vote out Nazi Nick.


More details of the Conference will follow, but to book places please contact 078176 88835 or northwest@uaf.org.uk


North West UAF have also produced a ‘Griffin Must Go’ Statement supporting the campaign, which has already been signed by a number of MEPs, MPs, trades unionists, councillors and others.


The ‘Griffin Must Go’ Statement reads:


Get the fascists out of the North West!


In 2009, the fascist British National Party (BNP) broke through into mainstream British politics when they won two seats in the European Parliament.
BNP Leader and Holocaust Denier Nick Griffin was elected Member of the European Parliament (MEP) for the North West. Griffin’s election was followed by an increase in violent racist and homophobic attacks across the North West.
The fascists’ success at the ballot-box has been accompanied by the racist thugs of the English Defence League (EDL) spreading racist violence across Britain.
Unite Against Fascism have launched our ‘Griffin Must Go!’ Campaign to get this fascist out of his European Parliament seat for the North West. We are building a big campaign now, in preparation for the 2014 European Elections when we have the chance to vote out Nazi Nick Griffin.


Signatories to the ‘Griffin Must Go!’ Statement supporting the campaign include:  Arlene McCarthy MEP, Brian Simpson MEP, Claude Moraes MEP, Kate Green MP, Alison McGovern MP, Jonathan Reynolds MP, Julie Hilling MP, David Watts MP, Lisa Nandy MP, Yvonne Fovargue MP, Tony Lloyd MP, Mark Hendrick MP, Louise Baldock [Chair, North West Regional Labour Party and Liverpool City Councillor], Anna Rothery (Liverpool City Councillor), Peter Rankin [Leader, Preston City Council], Kieran Quinn (Executive Leader, Tameside Council), Peter Hain MP, Richard Howitt MEP, Billy Hayes [General Secretary, Communication Workers Union], Kanja Ibrahim Sesay, Bolton TUC, Lancashire TUC, Merseyside TUC, Unite the union Greater Manchester IT branch 9827, Manchester Community & Health branch of UNISON, TFGM UNISON branch, Councillor Mohammed Khan (Blackburn With Darwen Borough Council), Blackburn Councillor Salim Sidat, Tameside Councillor Helen Bowden, Tameside Councillor Gillian Peet, Tameside Councillor Lynn Travis, Tameside Councillor Denise Ward, Tameside Councillor Adam White, Tameside Councillor Alan Whitehead, Manchester City Councillor Afzal Khan, Iain McNicol, Glyn Ford [Labour’s National Policy Forum and former MEP], Councillor Carl Crompton (Preston City Council), Bhikhu Patel (Councillor, Riversway Ward, Preston), Preston Councillor Drew Gale, Preston Councillor Dave Wilson, Bolton Councillor Lindsey Kell, Cat Smith (Chair of Next Generation Labour), and others.

search this site

Find out more

Britain First factsheet
EDL factleet
EDL unmasked

Latest stories

follow us…

RSS icon facebook buttontwitter button

support us

Action diary

  • No upcoming events
AEC v1.0.4